Search

Planning to Hit It Out of the Park

Growing up, I dreamed of becoming a professional baseball player. While I was an okay softball right fielder, being female was not the only reason I was never drafted by my St. Louis Cardinals or any of their competitors. Despite that, turns out I'm on a wonderful All-Star team — a team of 18 top-notch quilt teachers.


Saturday, May 22, I'll be among teachers who will be part of the Global Quilt Connection's two-day All-Star Sampler live Zoom webinar. Each of us will have 15 minutes to share how we teach, especially how we teach via Zoom.


I'll demo a portion of one of my favorite courses to teach: "Demystifying Design for Foundation Piecing." We'll begin with photos of single images, like mine of our state flower, the Rocky Mountain blue columbine.


After studying the image, we'll create straight-line drawings that an be turned into foundations toward creating blocks — or mini quilts. Mine is 8" x 8".



I'm so honored to be part of this exciting and creative event. I'd love to have you tune in not just to see my presentation but to also be introduced to the full team of all stars. You can sign up to attend through the Global Quilt Connection as an individual or guild — https://www.globalquiltconnection.com/specialevents.html. The event is from 3-6 p.m. EST, 2-5 p.m. CDT, 1-4 p.m. MDT and noon-3 p.m. PDT. You won't be disappointed as every teacher will present a different technique.


As of today, May 4, there are an estimated 8,000 quilters who plan to sign in. I hope you will be one of them.


Images above — Columbine block, columbine photo and columbine drawing all © by Dana Jones, 5.4.2021. All rights reserved.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All