top of page
MINI FLOOD OF COLORS VERTICAL FOR WEBSITE.jpg

Sign Up

for Classes Now!

"Bird on a Branch"  by Dana Jones

Quilted by Rita Meyerhoff

Please subscribe now to my monthly newsletter.

Dana Jones

www.danajonesquilts.com

Quiltmaker  •  Quilt Teacher  •  Quilt Designer

Author  •  Editor  •  Photographer  •  Artist

Journalist  •  Quilt Classes  •  Quilt Lectures

Thanks for submitting!

Just Added!

Demystifying Design for Foundation Paper Piecing

Register now for the next session of my popular Demystifying Design for Foundation Paper Piecing workshop, which will be Sundays, June 9 and 16 via Zoom. You'll learn what I call the Paper Police© rules as you design a block  and then create a pattern for a pictorial quilt based on a photo of your choice. You'll be amazed how easy the process is and how quickly you'll be designing your own FPP patterns.

This class will meet in two three-hour sessions from noon to 3 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (2-5 p.m. Eastern, 1-4 p.m. Central and 11 a.m.-2 p.m. Pacific). 

 

Register now.

Finding Your Design Sense

If you’re ready to design your own quilts but aren’t sure where to start, this class will introduce you to the basics of design — balance, unity, variety, line, shape, value, color, pattern, texture and more — through in-class activities and at-home play. You’ll learn what appeals to you toward developing your design style. In this class, you will:

  • Learn concepts of design you can use to design quilts and to adapt other people’s designs;

  • Be stretched to try new ideas, some that may push you to a new place and some that will affirm your ability as a designer; and

  • Become confident that you can design quilts unique to you.

The class will meet once a month for five months, allowing time between classes to use what you learn. And there will be a final critique session for those who are interested. 

This class will meet from 10 a.m.-1 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time the second Tuesday of the month from June through October. Meeting dates are June 13, July 11, August  8, September 12 and October 10. Class time is noon-3 p.m. EDT,

11 a.m.-2 p.m. CDT, and 9 a.m.-noon PDT.  Register now.

"Warp Speed"  by Dana Jones

Quilted by Rita Meyerhoff

Finding Your Color Sense

Each of us has an innate color sense though not all of us are in touch with it. My approach to teaching color for quilters is to help you find your color sense through a series of activities. Terrified of color? This class is for you. Good with color? This class is for you. Want to understand more about color? This class is for you.  You’ll learn to find color palettes in photos and your surroundings, how to create dimension with color, how to create luminosity with color and color theory in ways that won’t cause your eyes to glaze over. Home play activities will complement what you learn in class.

 

This class will meet from 10 a.m.-1 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time the second Wednesdays from September through December. Class dates are September 11, October 9, November 13 and December 11. Times are noon-3 p.m. EDT, 11 a.m.-2 p.m. CDT and 9 a.m.-noon PDT.

 

Register now.

Detail of "Circle of Friends"

by Dana Jones

Quilted by Becky Joyce

Free!

Learn to Inset Circles

One-time only opportunity to learn to inset circles for free. Room for 15 participants. In three hours, you'll learn to inset circles using just eight pins no matter the size of the circle. You'll be amazed at how easy it is. This class will give you a taste of the expanded circle class, "Stepping Beyond Drunkard's Path." No charge but registration is required.

Back by Popular Demand

Stepping Beyond Drunkard's Path

This delightful class that debuted in the fall of 2023 proved so much fun, it's back for fall 2024. Working with  Cheryl Phillips' amazing Cut A Round tool and her book "Stepping Beyond Drunkard's Path," you'll move from simple insetting of circles to more and more sophisticated designs as you create a quilt with high energy and tons of curves made more easily than you can imagine. 

Not sure this is for you? Get a taste of insetting circles in the free "Learn to Inset Circles" class July 9 then sign up for this class, which will meet second Tuesdays from August through December. Class dates are August 13, October 8, November 12 and December 10. Class will meet from 10 a.m.-1 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time. That's noon-3 p.m. EDT, 11 a.m.-2 p.m. CDT and 9 a.m.-noon PDT.  Register now

Gilpin County, Colorado                                danaellenjones@gmail.com                              720-654-8430

bottom of page